How Much Jail Time Can You Get for A Wisconsin Misdemeanor?
In Madison Wisconsin, and throughout the Wisconsin state courts,
misdemeanors are classified as follows A, B, or C. This is
determined by the crime you are charged with. Look at the
criminal complaint to see what class of misdemeanor you have
been charged with. The maximum penalities for misdemeanors in
Wisconsin generally are:
Class A-Fine up to $10,000 and jail up to 9 months or both;
Class B-Fine up to $1,000 and jail up to 90 days or both;
Class C-Fine up to $500 and jail up to 30 days or both.
Be aware that the Wisconsin habitual criminality statute allows
for penalties in excess of the basic penalties above. If you
have a prior criminal record you need to be very careful and
aware of this additional enhancement.
Defense attorneys can sometimes get the prosecution to amend a
misdemeanor charge to a civil forfeiture. This means the
defendant gets convicted of a fine only, not a criminal offense.
However, the the initial misdemenaor charge will show up on CCAP
but it will say something similar to, "the defendant was
convicted of disorderly conduct, this is not a criminal
offense." To avoid having this show up on CCAP/ get the
initial charge removed, contact
Griessmeyer for an expungment. In a past case,
Attorney Griessmeyer was able to get a
misdemenaor charge expunged even though expungment had not
been addressed at the defendants sentencing. The case no
longer shows up on CCAP.